This varies and usually depends on the applicable state’s law. In Texas and many other states in the U.S., an individual has 2 years from the date of the injury to file a personal injury lawsuit. In some states, such as Louisiana, the individual only has 1 year to file a lawsuit.
There are also other types of deadlines that may apply to your case. If you are suing a city or state government, certain special notice requirements may apply that are much shorter than the typical 2-year deadline to file a personal injury lawsuit.
One of our top priorities as a law firm is to quickly identify the applicable deadlines in your case and make sure we move fast to meet them.